Curse of The Super Bowl Loser: Cardinals No Exception


Published: March 15, 2009


... years, well, since 2000, almost every Super Bowl loser has fared far worse the next year.

In fact seven of the last eight runner-ups have not even made the playoffs and have averaged just over seven wins a year.

In reality it hasn't always been this way.

In 1999 the Titans lost Super Bowl 34 to the Rams. The following year they went 13-3 and returned to the playoffs. In those days it was not an unheard of thing.

A team that makes it to the Super Bowl is supposedly still a very good team and making the playoffs the next year is a given.

This ideology held true after the Giants lost Super Bowl 35. They were favored to win their division in 2001, thus the curse would begin.

The Giants fell to 7-9 and out of the playoffs the next year. The following year the Rams would fall to 7-9.

Then came the Raiders who went 5-11 after their Super B...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article Source: